About the Metro Council

The Metropolitan Council of Community Mental Health Centers represents the public mental health system, otherwise known as Community Mental Health Centers (CMHC), in the Kansas City area.

There are seven, independently run CMHCs in the metro area that serve as the entry/exit point for services both children and adults. Each CMHC is responsible in addressing the needs of residents in a specific geographic area. These mental health centers work together to form a primary mental health service safety net system, with a joint mission of providing quality mental health services to low-income individuals and families.

Patients at CMHCs receive treatment from well-trained staff, including licensed professionals, psychiatrists, advanced practice nurses and physician assistants. Each center is specially licensed and/or accredited, most commonly by the Missouri Department of Mental Health, Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services or the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF).

The Kansas City area CMHCs annually serve over 62,000 people with mental health disorders. Services are offered for all ages and diagnoses, including depression, childhood disorders, substance abuse disorders, schizophrenia and anxiety.